World of Meh!

The website about nothing (and everything!)

The Tombs of Atuan

Posted by chris On July - 25 - 2009

The Tombs of Atuan is the second book in the Earthsea Cycle, continuing the story of A Wizard of Earthsea a few years after its events.  The book moves its focus, however, onto a new main character, while placing Ged in the role of a supporting character.


The Tombs of Atuan is a similar coming of age style story.  The main character, Tenar, also known as Arha, is raised believing in one ideal only to discover as she grows that it has all been a lie.  The book ties the two character stories together and begins to set down the foundation of the third installment of the series.

More insight is given into the nature of the world of Earthsea, creating an even more immersive environment for the mind to wander in.  It is a good continuation to Ged’s overall story, and a wonderful read.

-Because I said so

Share and Enjoy:

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.